top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Ray

Quality (Language) Time

Updated: Mar 6, 2020

I am lucky enough to work in a district that has a week break in February. Following the stress of the holiday season and calm before March (IEP) Madness, it's the prefect brain break. Being eight months pregnant, my family and I took a "familymoon" to the beach. My love language is quality time and as a working mom it can be hard to come by. I made sure to make the most of this little getaway. My daughter is currently going through quite the language burst which makes my SLP heart happy. It got me thinking of strategies I use to support her language which are so helpful to this age and for kids with a speech and/or language impairment.


1. Expanding

I feel like I'm in a constant conversation with my daughter through expansion. Whether I am repeating what she says and adding one word or expounding upon the topic she had introduced; we are constantly talking. I follow her lead, communicate on her level (or one slightly above), and truly try to understand the points or comments she is making. And guess what, she notices! How do I know? She talks more.


2. Reading

My daughter loves books. Now I don't know if it's the fact that I've been shoving books in her face since in utero or if her zest is more innate. Our nightly routine consists of reading two books (chosen by her) as well as quiet reading time throughout the day and she's even begun acting out favorite stories (thanks Mo Willems). While we're reading, I respond to her comments, make my own and am okay when we go "off script."

Once you get away from the thought that books must be read word for word within a strict format, can you use those books as a launch pad for language.

3. Choices

Everyone loves choices, but if you're like me or a toddler too many can be overwhelming. I had a really hard time registering for my wedding [ahem Bed Bath and Beyond]. Kids love to be in control, or at least feel that way. Choices allow that.

The first rule of choice-giving is make sure you're happy with either one! The second one is follow through! If your child chooses the princess costume for PJs, you better be helping her put on that gown. Also see rule #1.


4. New Words

When my daughter asks, "What's that?" for the millionth time, I answer. This strategy truly tested my nerves on hour six of the car trip and question number 577. My daughter is thirsty for knowledge and vocabulary. When their question asks for a new word, give it them. Don't blow it off and answer "bird" when they really wanted to know pelican. Vocabulary is a huge predictor of later success in school and life. Just ask Hart and Risley (2003) who discovered a 30 million word gap between language spoken in the home of college-educated parents to those on welfare. And keep in mind that verbs carry a bit more weight in terms of later development so don't leave those by the wayside.


5. Little Deal

When my daughter is having a toddler-logic tantrum, I call it a "little deal." I use those words to refer to a problem that she can fix herself, easily ask for help with or is simply ridiculous. I try not to gaslight her when she is clearly hurt, confused or frustrated but putting small issues into perspective has helped. For instance, getting dressed can be a struggle considering she wants to do everything herself which often leads to frustration. While her eyes might be welling up with tears, I calmly say, "little deal, you can ask for help." Usually we can avoid a full-fledged meltdown. My husband is quick learner and has even used the strategy on me; honestly I don't know if I'm more proud or annoyed. When I had to go somewhere with wet hair (high maintenance much?), it really was a little deal but it took a bystander to help me come to that realization.

Kids are so intrinsic in their thinking that just by someone putting a label on problems helps them to cope better.

So with these strategies in mind, enjoy that quality time building language skills. How do you spend your quality time?

42 views0 comments
bottom of page